093. She Said, She Said

[In which our heroine uses the 20/20 vision granted to all by the passage of time.]

In a recent conversation with a friend, she said, “It’s a good thing I’m not a teenager anymore because I would lied to myself!” This, obviously, got me thinking about what my 25 year old self really knows that my 15 year old self also knew but vehemently wanted to avoid thinking about. Here comes the list of examples…

15: I’ll let [him/her/whoever] cool off and it will be fine, no need to cause a fuss.
25: Get right. Say what you mean in a respectful way and it will make everyone feel better in the end.

15: Well, maybe he does really want to hang out with me but he’s just nervous to say something.
25: He’s clearly avoiding [me/the situation/whatever], and therefore I should move on.

15: I don’t need those people to like me, forget them, I’m awesome just the way I am! Yeah!
25: Maybe we should take the sarcasm down a notch or two lest we offend everyone AND their moms.

15: Sure, I like this sweater, let’s spend lots of money on it.
25: I think it’s cute but I honestly don’t think I’d wear it that often, the waist is a little too baggy and the color isn’t great for me. Let’s go to the next store and look at what they have.

15: Yes, I really love this meal!
25: Yes, I really love this meal! (Hey, sometimes you have to bluff, especially at a relative’s party.)

Clearly, with age comes perspective, in these examples ten years and all of college and all of the experiences that come with major life changes and upsets and celebrations. I don’t wish I could go back in a time machine to talk sense into my teenage self and I am grateful for those blissful years of lying to myself so that high school would be a little more tolerable (because, let’s face it, high school seems fun and the drama is exciting, but in actuality it’s so not nice).

Anything 15/25s (or 35, 45, 55…) that you’d like to share?

About failsintowins

"Whenever a thing is done for the first time, it releases a little demon." - Emily Dickinson "Don't suck. And be funny." - Jazon Mraz
This entry was posted in Lists, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 093. She Said, She Said

  1. dessertation says:

    This is unrelated, but do you do nanowrimo?? I did it last year,but didn’t actually finish….I’m debating if I’ll do it this year….

    • releasealittledemon says:

      I am doing it this year! Funny you should ask today because I spent about three hours today planning. I had known about it for a while but only really looked into it early this year and so I’ve been waiting and thinking about what story to write for months. Now I’m kind of nervous since it’s just around the corner, but I think/hope I can do it! You should definitely do it this year, too. What kind of book did you want to write?

Tell me what you think...