090. (Stop?) Embarrassing Yourself in Public

[In which our heroine tells you it was OK, no one laughed… that much…]

While watching one of my most favorite YouTube celebrities, Hank Green, I had the idea for this blog post in which I would list all the embarrassing things (that I can remember) that I’ve done. Then I remembered that this is a blog and there are some people out there who know me and even if you don’t know me, why would I want to relive the most embarrassing things I’ve done with complete strangers looking on? Clearly, a conundrum.

Watch this video while I think about it some more…

OK, taking Hank’s lead and laughing at the the intellectual fly down metaphor, here we go. Embarrassing things I’ve done that I’m willing to talk about:

  • I was mouthing off about how someone spelled a city name incorrectly in their blog post when from the next room I hear, “That’s how you spell it in German.” The called-out-from-the-next-room bit was especially humbling since a) I was being loud enough to hear, and b) he was much cooler (and apparently more up on his foreign languages) than I.
  • In giving a short presentation about Billie Holiday in high school, I inadvertently said “he” and was immediately interrupted by a star football player, who also happened to also play trombone in the jazz band, letting me know that Billie is a she, and even though I knew that, c’était très embarrassant.
  • Also in high school, I arrived one fall morning wearing a bright orange turtleneck sweater that I had purchased over the weekend with my hard-earned babysitting money. I walked up to my then-boyfriend and said some sort of greeting, to which he responded, “What? I’m sorry, I couldn’t hear you, your shirt is too loud.” Mortification ensued. Also anger and resentment. I think I made fun of his haircut, too.

Alright, that’s enough. Why do they all have to do with guys? Says something about my subconscious, I’m sure. Any embarrassing tales you’d like to anonymously share with the world?

About failsintowins

"Whenever a thing is done for the first time, it releases a little demon." - Emily Dickinson "Don't suck. And be funny." - Jazon Mraz
This entry was posted in Lists, Photos & Videos, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think...